BJP inducts nine Congress MLAs in Assam

Nine Congress lawmakers from Assam today joined the BJP amid sings that more Congress leaders would follow before the 2016 assembly polls.

BJP leader Ram Madhav, who looks after the party’s Assam affairs, welcomed the lawmakers including Jayanta Malla Baruah, Piyush Hazarika, Rajen Borthakur, Pallab Lochan Das, Abu Taher Bepari, Binanda Saikia, Bolin Chetia, Pradan Baruah and Kripa Nath Malla.

Known to be loyalists of former Assam health and education minister Himanta Biswa Sarma, the nine leaders met Shah in New Delhi on September 5 along with Sarma.

About the Author

Leave A Response